2021 Surftown Half Marathon


Paul W1PJS
 

CALL FOR VOLUNTEERS

From Jim, our Asst Section Emergency Coordinator… see below

Paul Silverzweig
W1PJS
RI Section Emergency Coordinator
FEMA/RIEMA All Hazards ComL
AUXCOMM 
Military Auxiliary Radio Service
RI Assoc. of Emergency Managers
     Chair, Radio Comms Committee
Portsmouth RI EMA
Trustee NB1RI Repeater Network
646-522-2262

Begin forwarded message:

From: Jim <divingdog@...>
Date: July 18, 2021 at 11:05:41 AM EDT
To: Aaron Marsland <kc1epx@...>, Art Campbell <wacstoy@...>, Barry Noel <w1bsn@...>, Bob Beatty <WB4SON@...>, Bob Beaudet <w1yrc@...>, Bob Brown <BTBrown11@...>, Brandon Desorcy <djbnmusic@...>, Brian Swan <n1bs@...>, Charles Greene <w1cg@...>, Chip Griffin <n1mie@...>, Chuck Kesson <chuck.kesson@...>, Chuck Newman <ka1cqr@...>, Dave Neal <w2dan@...>, Dave Viveiros <ko1e50@...>, David Brown <david_r_brown@...>, David Cain <w1dec@...>, David Gardiner <Gardine37@...>, David Queenan <w1daq@...>, Dean Johnson <k1hsy@...>, Debbie Smith <w1gke.deb@...>, Dwight Ernest <dwight.ka2cnn@...>, Frank DePetrillo <particulate.fd@...>, Gene Hennig <ehennig@...>, Geof Milner <gmil@...>, George Archer <u15324@...>, Guenter Bay <guenterbay@...>, Heather CF Reynolds <heather@...>, Henry Brown <k1wcc@...>, Jamie Tarricone <ka1jf@...>, Jeff Schwartz <jhschwartz@...>, Jeremy Taylor <k1jst@...>, Jim Johnson <anniemac28@...>, Joeseph Deslaurier <sapper1936@...>, John Lindholm <w1xx@...>, John Mann <jm.w1qz@...>, John Mcmanus <rhodekeel@...>, John Neary <wa1eso@...>, John Zabriskie <jzabriskie@...>, John Zabritski <JohnZab@...>, John Zabritski <w1jpz01@...>, Jon Smith <n1swz@...>, Judson Mitsock <judson@...>, Kathryn Brennan <kathybrennan74@...>, Ken Carr <ke1ri@...>, Kenneth Chapman <kac9138@...>, Lee Bessette <LBessette@...>, Libby Bray <libbykraft@...>, Marc Caouette <shortwaver@...>, Marc Caouette <w1mcx@...>, Mark Dieterich <n1km@...>, Martin Mendelson <n1jma@...>, Matthew C Penttila <mcpenttila@...>, Michael Bragg <mjbragg75@...>, Michael Grimaldi <Mgrimaldi@...>, Michael Grimmer <mj.grimmer@...>, Mike Cullen <k1npt@...>, Mike Therrien <mike_therrien@...>, Myrton Smith <n1gke@...>, Pat Genco <pgenco@...>, Paul J Campbell <pcampbell@...>, Paul Perrone <prperrone@...>, Paul Silverzweig <w1pjs@...>, Ralph Smith <supermanrs0226@...>, Scott Tillotson <stillotson1@...>, Stephen Jurczyk <stephen.jurczyk@...>, Ted Wrobel <twrobel@...>, Teri Diiorio <teri.diiorio@...>, Tim Watters <Timwatters@...>, Timothy Cashman <tcshmn@...>, Tom Senerchia <ka1vay@...>, Wayne Chiapperini <KC1AUM@...>, Willy Maclean <W1LY@...>, "Aaron C. Smith" <etherstar@...>, Bill Keicher <wekeicher@...>, Charles Estabrooks <k1ecu@...>, Craig Moody <cmoody3453@...>, David Anderson <david.r.anderson@...>, Dawn Smith <cprdawn@...>, Dean Bailey <pabeetle02@...>, Donald Wienke <donwienke@...>, Eric Schell <kb1tzv@...>, John Merkel <theMerkels@...>, Larry Steadman <steadmanjl@...>, Mark Tetlow <mark.tetlow@...>, Martin Jones JR <wa1vin@...>, Marty Jones SR <martyjones1943@...>, "Mike Brankert Sr." <mebsr@...>, Owen Bostrom <obostrom@...>, Peter Scaramuzzo <wa2bpx@...>, Richard Booth <ka1hbh@...>, Rick Muller <ka1zzv@...>, Sally Hanson <kb1rhd@...>, Stephen Smith <stephenchasesmith@...>, "Susan Durfee, CVT" <susan.meeker.durfee@...>, Tom La Pere <tommywingover@...>
Subject: 2021 Surftown Half Marathon



Hello Hams,

 

Sunday September 12th 2021 is fast approaching with a large event here in Westerly, the Surftown Half Marathon and 5K.

The Hartford Marathon Foundation, Inc. is a not for profit organization whose mission is to encourage individuals and families to adopt and maintain a healthy and active lifestyle. The organization promotes fitness to all ages and all abilities through community running events, school based programs and community collaborations. The Hartford Marathon Foundation coordinates the Surftown as well as many other events in Connecticut and Rhode Island.  Their mission is to organize programs and events that promote health, fitness and enjoyment for participants of all ages and experience levels. Over 70,000 people participate annually in HMF events.  Since 1994, the HMF has injected over $105 million for dozens of community charities.  Since 1998, over 10,000 adults and children have participated in Hartford Marathon Foundation Training programs designed to help people begin or build a running or walking program.

Running along the ocean front streets of Misquamicut Beach and Watch Hill, RI, the Surftown Half Marathon is a spectacular beach race featuring stunning ocean views! Fast and flat, the 13.1 mile half marathon is a great destination race with live entertainment on the course, pace teams and a well-marked route with timing clocks, fluid stations and support on the course. The Surftown Half Marathon is a favorite of many runners, about 2,800 every year,

This is a large event and requires a substantial number of hams.  Non hams are welcome also because they are a great help to the hams providing the communications.

Below is the Hartford Marathon Foundation’s web address for the event.

https://www.hartfordmarathon.com/surftown-half-marathon-5k/

If you are available or not please let me know.  If you know anyone who might be interested that did not receive this email please forward.  Also pass on to your clubs and teams.

 

Thankyou,

Jim Creamer

Westerly Amateur Radio Team

Washington County District Emergency Coordinator

Assistant RI Section Emergency Coordinator

2 David Ave.

Westerly, RI 02891

P: 401-596-2720

C: 401-864-4510

 




Avast logo

This email has been checked for viruses by Avast antivirus software.
www.avast.com



--
73,

Paul, W1PJS
RI Section Emergency Coordinator